a tiny update + goals

I have been home from Spain for a week now and I feel like my days have been filled with stuff to do. I’m still cleaning my room, and working on that. I’m still trying to write and read as much as possible. And I have been hanging out with friends and family before everyone goes off for school and work and whatever else.

Before we left for Spain, my friend and I drove to Ikea and I bought some Billy bookshelves. I have wanted them for a while, and I finally decided to buy them. And oh my god, I am in love. They look so much better than my last bookshelf which I had to use tape and a couple of my belts to keep my books from falling out on the sides. I have thrown away so much crap and I still find more to throw away everywhere I look. Its both extremely liberating and terrifying at the same time – I get emotionally attached to practically everything…

d(I’m going to add a few photos from my trip to Spain)

I bought paint to paint my desk to a dark green colour. I finished it last night and I love it. It’s a deep green, and I just think it looks gorgeous! I think I’m in love…

So far in 2017 I have managed to read 17 books and I am very happy with it. I managed to read 4 books during my trip to Spain. 2 of which was 600+ pages, 1 was 400+ pages and the last one 270 (ish) pages! And you know what, I’m proud of myself!

I have also managed to write a decent amount during these past few weeks. While we were in Spain, towards the last few days, I got this craving to write and I wrote a chapter of this story that I really want to write and publish on wattpad. I have also been working on and plotting and outlining another novel and I’m also working on another one… My problem isn’t that I don’t have enough ideas, but rather the opposite… I have so many ideas (some terrible, and some decent) that I want to write on and it makes me frustrated because I want to write them all!

thumbnail_IMG_8734 2(defiantly one of my favourite books of 2017! + I’ve already bought the next book)

But I have a goal: I want to finish outlining my world war 2 novel, and possibly write and finish draft 1. I want to write and finish another “historical fiction” novel’s first draft. And then, lastly (for now), my wattpad story – I want to write draft one, possibly start draft 2 before the end of the year…. Though, the story I’m prioritizing is the world war 2 historical fiction because I’m really motivated to write it and I think – if I’m allowed to say so – it has potential.

I don’t have much to do this upcoming year: hopefully I’ll get a job and work a few times a week, but other than that… I don’t have much to do. I want to focus on my fitness and health and my youtube channel (where I want to do mainly book related videos and possibly a few bullet journal and so on videos). And then write. And write. And write! Oh, and read enough books to fill my room… Not really, but I would like to read 40 or more books!

But even though I am super excited about writing these books, I’m also nervous. I want and love to write, but I’m self-conscious about it. I try to tell myself that I won’t get better if I don’t start writing more, but… I don’t know. I’m scared it’s going to turn out like shit. Which it might. But just the first draft. And then I can fix it!

We’ll see, I guess.

m 2

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed. I’ll be writing a read-a-thon post soon, I just need to figure it out…

4 thoughts on “a tiny update + goals

  1. First of all dark green is my favourite colour and I’m imaging your desk next to those white bookcases and think it looks awesome! Secondly, I totally know what you mean about having too many ideas!! Argh. I’ve just fished my first ever first draft of a book and I’m so proud I actually stuck to one idea long enough to write it when I’ve had so many others pop into my head along the way! I say go for it! I didn’t think I could do it but I did.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. For me, not reading what I’d written. Don’t look back just keep going forward. If I kept going back and editing /trying to make things better I would have never finished! It doesn’t matter if your stuck and know that the sentence you just wrote sounds shit. You can edit it one you’ve finished. It stopped me from staring at the page for ages coming up with the perfect sentence.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

