books i’m bringing on holiday + video

I’m leaving for a holiday to Spain with my family in a few days, and one of the things I have preplanned days, even weeks, before we actually leave is the list of books I’m bringing with me.

We were in Spain in 2015 too and that time I only brought three books, which isn’t a small amount, but for me, it wasn’t enough. All I do on these holidays is spending half of my time in the pool and the rest in the shadow with a book. So I have a lot of time to read books.

Therefore, I have learned from my mistakes, and I’m bringing five books this time. Maybe six, I’m not actually hundred precent sure yet. I’ll show you five books now, because I don’t know if I’m bringing a sixth, and which one might be my sixth book.

A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES by Sarah J. Maas

My sister bought this for me when she was on a summer trip to England a few weeks ago. I have wanted to read this one for a while, but have been a little hesitant, because this is (as far as my knowledge goes) a retelling of beauty and the beast, and I don’t think I’m a big fan of retellings. I might be though, but I don’t like the idea of it. I’m not sure why, though. But I’m willing to give it a shot. (I should warn you, I might be wrong.) Apparently this book is a little more mature then her Throne of Glass series, so I’m interested too see it.

EMPIRE OF STORMS by Sarah J. Maas

Can you tell I like Sarah J. Maas? Well, if not, I do. Every single time I read one of her books I have just fell in love with the story. I have only read the Throne of glass series, and this is the fifth one in the series. I won’t spoil the series obviously, so I’ll tell you what the first book is about: A female assassin is taken out of captivity and given an opportunity to fight in a tournament and be free. And it goes from there. Even though the books are just getting longer and longer, I fly through them. They are just so darn good!

ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE by Anthony Doerr (mine is the norwegian version)

First off, can I just tell you one of my book pet peeves? When the effing stickers doesn’t go off!!! Anyways, this book is a historical fiction set during world war 2. It’s about a blind, french girl and an orphaned, german boy, and how their stories, somehow, intertwines. I have heard this book is amazing. And I have wanted to read this for so long and I have had the english edition for a while, but I wanted to read it in Norwegian, so now I’m excited to read this!

THE BOY WHO TRICKED GESTAPO by Harald Utter (Gutten som lurte Gestapo)

I would be surprised if this book actually exists in english, so I’m sorry about that. But this book is a non fiction book about a norwegian resistance man who was 16 years old when he started a resistance cell with his friends and a teacher. It sounds SO good, and I can’t wait to read this soon.

IMG_1239PARIS by Edward Rutherfurd

I just bought this book. It was on sale and it sounded very interesting. It follows seven families over the period of seven hundred years! Just that sounds so… I don’t know. All I know is that I couldn’t leave the store without this one, so it’s going with me to Spain! It’s a long one, so I’m hoping I’ll be able to read the entire thing!

My problem now is to chose which one I want to read first…..

Have you read any of these books? What books are you reading this summer?

Thank you for reading! xx

edit: I have missed filming book videos on youtube so I decided to film one yesterday, and I posted it today. I would love if you would go and watch it :D

Leave a Reply

