My Thoughts on Trump.

(And the presidential election)

Hello.

I have never really been interested in politics. I have paid attention to the small elections here in Norway but I have never really paid enough attention or felt as passionate about any politic event before this presidential election. After some thought, I have acknowledged that the reason that I have felt so passionate about this event is/was because of all the causes that has been brought up during these months; gay rights, female rights and racism and more.

All though I have been for gay rights, female rights (gender equality) and against racism for my entire life, I only started reading up on these issues this past year. I started calling myself a feminist just in the beginning of this year and have felt so passionate about all of this. I feel I have learned so much about this and it makes me sad.

I might be ignorant, but I feel like we, this world, have come far with these issues in a lot of countries. (not enough, but a little). And now that this sexist, racist man have been chosen to be the next president of a massive and powerful country, I can’t help but to feel like we are going back to the 1940s or something around there.

I’m afraid that the young boys and girls, especially in America, will look at Trump and think that sexism and racism is ok. I’m afraid that young boys will think it’s ok to be disrespecting towards woman. And I’m afraid that young girls will think the men is “better” or “more superior” than them.

The winner was announced this morning and I’m not going to lie, I was, and am, disappointed and sad and scared about what can happen in the future. I went to bed at 1 am after watching a live coverage of the election for a few hours. I was scared to go to bed. I was scared to wake up with Trump as the new president. And that’s what happened. I even had a nightmare where Trump was elected and woke up in the middle of the night with a small tear in my eye, embarrassingly enough.

Then theres is Hillary Clinton. I wouldn’t say I’m with her, but if I could have voted I would have voted for her. Compared to Trump, she has had years and years of knowledge and experience. Trump has owned a company (and did well with some of it, I think) and had had a reality show.

Donald Trump didn’t win. Racism won. Sexism won. Homophobia won. Hate, fear and prejudice won…

…But maybe he’ll surprise us all. All I hope is that he won’t do some of the things he have said (building a wall and refusing muslims) but create more jobs and make the economy better.

I’m 18 years old and have my entire life in front of me. Please don’t do anything stupid. What America does will affect the entire world.

Anyway. This is my opinion. You might share it, or not. All I ask is that you respect my opinion. “I will respect your opinion as long as your opinion doesn’t disrespect anyones existence.” This is one of my favourite quotes of all time. Unfortunately I have no idea who actually said it because it was someone from tumblr.

Bye!

Leave a Reply

