The Martian: review

Hello!

*No spoiler*

I took a break from reading Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas (it was going very slowly) and decided I wanted to read The Martian by Andy Weir.

This is him by the way. Don’t know a lot about him except that he wrote an amazing book and that he has a fear of flying.

Anyway, I usually don’t read these kinds of books. I don’t know why, but I know I want to read more like this now!

 

 

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate the planet while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded on Mars’ surface, completely alone, with no way to signal Earth that he’s alive — and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone years before a rescue could arrive.

Chances are, though, he won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment or plain-old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first. But Mark’s not ready to quit. Armed with nothing but his ingenuity and his engineering skills — and a gallows sense of humor that proves to be his greatest source of strength – he embarks on a dogged quest to stay alive, using his botany expertise to grow food and even hatching a mad plan to contact NASA back on Earth.

As he overcomes one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next, Mark begins to let himself believe he might make it off the planet alive – but Mars has plenty of surprises in store for him yet.

I have to be honest and say that the reason I actually wanted to read this in the first place was because I wanted to watch the movie. And the reason I wanted to watch the movie was because there is an Norwegian actor in there who plays Alex Vogel, one of the astronauts. But then, I read what the movie/book was about and it sounded very interesting, so I wanted to read it.

And I wasn’t disappointed.

I heard some book tubers talk about the books, saying it was very entertaining and funny, and it defiantly was. The first sentence was “I am fucked”or something like that. I really like the writing and that it changed from the main characters log entry’s to the people on the ground. Which surprised me; I usually don’t like when the point of view changes to much, but I actually enjoyed it here!

There isn’t much I didn’t like, and it’s not really that I disliked it either, but I would love if he extended the end. I can’t really explain what I would… eh, change because I would spoil the ending, but if you have read it; I would love to read more!

I honestly thing The Martian is a literary masterpiece. Well done, Andy Weir! Your book is one the top list with all the Harry Potter books Not many are!

Also, I’m going to England this week, so I’ll post some pictures from my trip there (I’m going to the Harry Potter museum too!!)

Have you read The Martian? Did you like it? Please let me know!

nnnn

Leave a Reply

